View Full Version : Here is a Scam to watch out for


roy harley
10-06-2007, 01:05 PM
This started out as a Craigslist ad that I looked into. Here is the Email I got back. IF you click on some of the links you will see a map and a website for the bike shop. Shop is in Maine but the Phone number onteh website is from Utah which was my first clue.


Be safe!!


Dear customer,

Thank you for your interest in our bikes. THIS IS A STOCK LIMIT OFFER!!! We give this discount because we are liquidating the 2006 stock.

We have all sizes and colors available on stock right now with this model.

The buy it now price for the complete bike is listed on our website. In this price all shipment costs are included. We ship the bike fully assembled.

We would like to make a safe transaction through eBay for our both protection. We are registered with their protection program department and they will handle the transaction. Your funds are 100% insured by eBay until you will receive and inspect the bike and we are sure that we receive your payment after you confirm and inspect the bike. You have 3 days from the time you receive the bike to inspect it and to decide if you want to keep it or not. If you are not satisfied with it, you will send the bike to us (at our cost) and eBay will fully refund you.

For shipment we use UPS Air Service and if you buy it now, we will support all shipment costs. In maximum 5 days the bike will arrive at your door.

If you decide to buy it now, please email us imediately with the following details:

- COMPLETE BIKE MODEL (exactly as it writes on our website) :
- BIKE's SIZE AND COLOR :
- YOUR FULL NAME :
- YOUR FULL ADDRESS :
- YOUR PHONE NUMBER :
- YOUR EBAY USER ID:

and we will contact eBay to start the transaction.

You can check our website at www.morgansbikes.com




We look forward for your reply,

Phil Deville,
Sales Dep.,
Morgan's Cycling Store,
address: 375 Western Ave., Augusta, ME, 04330, USA
website: www.morgansbikes.com
email: morgansbikes@yahoo.com


My guess is they are using Hijacked Ebay accounts to collect money. Map of Location (http://maps.google.com/maps?q=375+Western+Ave,+Augusta,+ME+04330,+USA&sa=X&oi=map&ct=image) I called some shops in the area and nobody had heard of Morgan's.

simonton
10-06-2007, 05:53 PM
I live in Maine-southern part of the state, about 60 miles from Augusta-I have never heard of this shop-after checking the site, if it existed I am sure I would have.

California L33
10-09-2007, 12:08 PM
This started out as a Craigslist ad that I looked into. Here is the Email I got back. IF you click on some of the links you will see a map and a website for the bike shop. Shop is in Maine but the Phone number onteh website is from Utah which was my first clue.


Be safe!!


Dear customer,

Thank you for your interest in our bikes. THIS IS A STOCK LIMIT OFFER!!! We give this discount because we are liquidating the 2006 stock.

We have all sizes and colors available on stock right now with this model.

The buy it now price for the complete bike is listed on our website. In this price all shipment costs are included. We ship the bike fully assembled.

We would like to make a safe transaction through eBay for our both protection. We are registered with their protection program department and they will handle the transaction. Your funds are 100% insured by eBay until you will receive and inspect the bike and we are sure that we receive your payment after you confirm and inspect the bike. You have 3 days from the time you receive the bike to inspect it and to decide if you want to keep it or not. If you are not satisfied with it, you will send the bike to us (at our cost) and eBay will fully refund you.

For shipment we use UPS Air Service and if you buy it now, we will support all shipment costs. In maximum 5 days the bike will arrive at your door.

If you decide to buy it now, please email us imediately with the following details:

- COMPLETE BIKE MODEL (exactly as it writes on our website) :
- BIKE's SIZE AND COLOR :
- YOUR FULL NAME :
- YOUR FULL ADDRESS :
- YOUR PHONE NUMBER :
- YOUR EBAY USER ID:

and we will contact eBay to start the transaction.

You can check our website at www.morgansbikes.com




We look forward for your reply,

Phil Deville,
Sales Dep.,
Morgan's Cycling Store,
address: 375 Western Ave., Augusta, ME, 04330, USA
website: www.morgansbikes.com
email: morgansbikes@yahoo.com


My guess is they are using Hijacked Ebay accounts to collect money. Map of Location (http://maps.google.com/maps?q=375+Western+Ave,+Augusta,+ME+04330,+USA&sa=X&oi=map&ct=image) I called some shops in the area and nobody had heard of Morgan's.


Have you contacted Craigslist?

Have you contacted eBay?

roy harley
10-09-2007, 12:40 PM
Have you contacted Craigslist?

Have you contacted eBay?

On Craigslist you can flag ads but it takes more than one person to flag these things. On Ebay there is nothing to go on> I searched and can't find anything on them on Ebay...

California L33
10-18-2007, 08:28 PM
On Craigslist you can flag ads but it takes more than one person to flag these things. On Ebay there is nothing to go on> I searched and can't find anything on them on Ebay...

You can also email abuse@craigslist.org

There's a sticky about how to report on eBay, but I haven't looked at it.

djconnel
10-26-2007, 09:15 AM
They're "liquidating their 2006 stock" of every size, in every model, of around 10 makes of bikes.... at below wholesale prices.

A Tarmac S-works SL with carbon rims for $2600? Cervelo Soloist carbon, built with Dura-Ace, for the same price?

I see their E-Bay ad has been taken down. Their web page was pulled last night, but is back now with a different service.

Dan

simickova
10-26-2007, 06:23 PM
Does anyone know something more about Morgan's cycling store from Maine? I'm confused, prices are to low, feedback on their site is perfectly positive, is there someting wrong?
Thanks for any information.



I tried to by one bike they sent me email "like " invoice from ebay. I contacted Ebay, they didn't sent it. So I'm positive that Morgan's cycling store is FAKE. Dont' buy anything!

djconnel
10-26-2007, 06:57 PM
Feedback is obviously forged. Don't send them anything. Those prices and that range of selection are not even remotely consistent with "liquidating 2006 inventory".

simickova
10-26-2007, 07:31 PM
Thanks now I know!

kdub
10-27-2007, 01:11 PM
And if you look at their website Morgan Cycling store, the URL of each link is different from the domain. It's morganbikes.110mb.com Someone stole the structure and pictures of a legit bike store and made it their own. Also notice as you click on the links, the URL on the top doesn't change.

Also if you own the domain name morgansbike.com, why do you need to use a yahoo.com , or netzero.net as email accounts.

peter10512
10-27-2007, 01:19 PM
That alone is a giveaway and the page where they ask you for your credit card is not safe, not https. That's a big nono.

Chiboy
11-06-2007, 01:46 PM
I found their ad when I was looking for my Tricross on CL. Prices looked too good to believe, so I googled them in Maine -- nothing. Tried using Argali to get their phone number or address in Maine -- nothing. Emailed them and got back some pseudo English bs. I wanted to believe they were legit, but absolutely everything pointed to them being far from it.

roy harley
11-06-2007, 06:17 PM
Oh I wanted to believe too, but I think if we can just keep one another informed on crap like this the better. There are other believable deals out there to be had.