View Full Version : another RBR classified scammer?


Chainslap
08-16-2004, 08:45 PM
I think I am getting scammed...
Here's a link to a thread I started in the General Discussions. (http://forums.roadbikereview.com/showthread.php?t=12761)

I just posted my Cx bike on the Classifieds and got some emails wanting to buy it in the first 12 hours form a guy named Jordan Smith from Moscow, and the other from someone named stephen_gray @graffiti.net both spoke poor english and their sentences were poorly structured. I went ahead and took the first guy Jordan seriously and practically sold him the bike. He wanted Pictures and also left this final message:

" I got your mail safely and so Right now you know I'm going to ask my associate to issue the check of $6,850 US Funds in your name and you'll send the excess funds to my shipper via western union,for him to come for the pick up at your location,I ll give you my shipping agent's datas as soon as the check gets to you,He's handles my shipping arrangement. I will be giving $400 for your (efforts and western union fees) I'll be very grateful if really you can do everything the same day you recieve the check for a faster transaction and bcos i am really eager o see it...."

I think it's a scam...what do you think?

Do a bunch of scammers browse the RBR classifieds all the time? Is it worth even trying to sell anything on there?

Chainslap
08-16-2004, 09:23 PM
I hope that scammer sees all my posts about him... what a waste of time dealing with people like that

tuz371
08-18-2004, 05:06 AM
I got the following three responses for my Independent Fabrication from:

pelini roland (peroland_2004@yahoo.com) "I JUST WANNA KNOW MAY BE YOUR ADS IS STILL AVAILABLE FOR SALE AND ALSO I WANNA LET YOU KNOW THAT MY MODE OF PAYMENT IS WITH CERTIFIED CASHIERS CHECK WHICH I BELIEVE IS THE BEST WAY OF PAYMENT.IF YOU ARE OK WITH THAT YOU CAN GET BACK TO ME SO THAT WE CAN CONCLUDE ON PAYMENT.
REGARDS. "

and STEPHEN GRAY (stephen_gray2000@graffiti.net) "Hello,
i came accros your ad and i am really intreted in geting it.
So i will want you to pls email me if it is still available.
And also tell me its present condition.
Also send me the pics if it is available and give ne your last price.
Also i will want you to know that my mode of payment is with a certified chasiers check.
If you are ok with that you can get back to me so that we can conclude on payment and shipping.Also u can contact me via email me stephen_gray2000@graffiti.net"

and Vinnie Viieira "> Hi Ted,
>
> I am very interested in yur bike.
> How tall are you? Because I am 6'1 and I was curious if the bike is
> too small for me.
>
> Thanks for your time,
>
> Vinnie
> "

They all look suspect to me. Anybody give some insight?

Chainslap
08-18-2004, 08:33 AM
pelini roland is the same guy as jordan smith, his email is set up just like it with the yahoo account and the underscore between the name and 2004...and that is exactly how my first email looked from "jordan smith" ... I think stephen gray is definitely a scammer...

I don't know about the last email from vinnie, but the first two are definitely scammers

Dave_Stohler
08-18-2004, 06:00 PM
Well, I mentioned in another thread that "Vinnie" sounded legit, but now I doubt it. If he's seriously asking if a 54cm frame will work for him, he's blowing smoke, looking for a reply. I'd really, really be careful with him.