View Full Version : Colnago Oval Master Titanium - SCAM!!
ivjoe 08-08-2006, 08:25 AM Everyone,
The following ad that was posted yesterday is a scam:
http://classifieds.mtbr.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&alert_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=61859&query=retrieval
This same bike was posted with the same images and description earlier this spring. I had contact with the seller (whose name and address have changed) in attempts to purchase the bike. The seller would ONLY accept payment via Western Union before shipping the bike, which I refused to to do. I requested he take the bike to a local Colnago dealer for an inspection, but he responded he couldn't do so because it was alread boixded up.
At any rate, I reported him to the Administration and the ad disappeared, but, as they say in the moives, it's baaackkk! I will be reporting the ad to the adminictration shortly. If look at the ad, what is being offered for $1,400 seems to good to be true - and it is.
DaveT 08-08-2006, 03:16 PM Looks like the ad has been removed already!
noavg55 08-08-2006, 04:14 PM i thought that was to good of a deal
bustamove 08-10-2006, 10:49 AM I was alerted to the ad and promptly removed it. The past couple of days ads for the following bikes were deleted because they were scams. Be very cautious and ask a lot of questions. I hate when somebody thinks they are getting a super deal and they get nothing in return for their money.
2006 Specialized S-Works
2005 Kestrel Evoke
Trek Session Downhill Bike
Colnago OvalMaster
Specialized S-Works Stumpjumper FSR
Meatball 08-10-2006, 10:54 AM Here is the guys info.
Mario George
14311 Culver Dr Ste E
Irvine,CA 92604
Phone:530 554 4846
seamusperry 08-10-2006, 07:35 PM I got nailed by this guy on the S-Works. The name and address he gave me was
Mark Torelli
1017 E. Victoria Street
Carson,CA 90747
530-554-4846
Any suggestions on how to go after these guys?
Meatball 08-10-2006, 07:50 PM I got nailed by this guy on the S-Works. The name and address he gave me was
Mark Torelli
1017 E. Victoria Street
Carson,CA 90747
530-554-4846
Any suggestions on how to go after these guys?
Did you call him before? I feel like giving him some late night calls. :D
seamusperry 08-10-2006, 08:05 PM I've talked to him a couple of times, but not before I realized who I was dealing with. I've asked him to call me tonight. I'm not sure the best way to screw with him is or to get some decent information that I can pass on to the police. Suggestions?
Meatball 08-10-2006, 08:09 PM Ask him for his real address and say you want to pick up the bike.... (if there is a bike in question) then you got the info for the police) he will probably hang up at that point. hrmmmm
seamusperry 08-10-2006, 08:11 PM I'll give it a try and let you know how it goes. Thx
gkirtf 08-12-2006, 02:24 PM I did a reverse look up of the guys phone number at white pages.com and got this:
(530) 554-4846 is a land line based in Davis, CA
The registered service provider is Level 3 Communications**.
Detailed listing information is not available.
Maybe if someone really wanted to they could try to contact the service provider and let them know the person is scamming. It may be worth the effort. Since it's a landline it would likely lead straight to the scammer if the number is legit.
http://www.whitepages.com/9900/search/ReversePhone?phone=530-554-4846
mb323323 08-14-2006, 05:35 PM Don't like to hear people being ripped off by these scammers. If you are buying a bike off this site or another site, just ask the seller to take the bike to the LBS in his area. You pick the LBS and call them. It's easy to do and most if not all real sellers on this site will do it. After all, you're paying for something. I would just expect to have to do it as a seller.
krhanson 08-16-2006, 07:09 PM I only swapped e-mail w/Mario George. He would not return any calls. This got my antenna up. So when I told him I wanted the bike and I was driving to Irvine he just faded away. What a jerk... I hope somebody gets this @#@^**^%$!!!!!!
Meatball 08-17-2006, 06:40 PM > Brent Wickham
wrote:
> Do you still have the bike for sale?
>Mario Wrote:
The bike is still available. Let me know if you are serious about the
> sale.
> Thanks Mario
Brent Wickham <Brent@AnabolicX.com> wrote:
How would you like the money?
Mario Wrote:
Hi Brent
I can ship the bike if you want the bike and then after you'll get it you'll wire
the money. Let me know if this is OK with you ,
Mario
>
>
Craig_Neid@bd.com 08-23-2006, 05:07 AM I have just been scammed by this person. Another post on this subject has traced his phone number (530-554-4846) to a landline in Irvine, CA.
I think there is value in having someone knock on his door and rattle his cage, and persue monetary compensation.
Craig
|