View Full Version : SMELLS LIKE FRAUD!!! - "Julia" in NORWAY


larkdiggity
05-26-2004, 12:08 PM
:mad: I don't know if this is the real deal yet, but it SMACKS of B.S., especially considering all of the TREK 5900 stuff going around - like a bad case of the stomach flu. This girl, apparently from Norway, is trying to sell a BRAND NEW Trek Superlight 5900 for $1200, AND offering to pay all of the shipping. When we asked her to call us, she said she was a "Deaf Mute" and could not talk!!!!!! :D At any rate, here are her two messages:

Hello, Im from Norway and if you can come here will be great if not I use for my transactions www.ww-safe-transaction.com because is safe and fast for both.Using this service you have 5 days inspection period and in this time you can return it and they will return your money.After this period expires and you are happy they will send me the money and this deal is close. We don't have any risk. Thanks, Julia Cage P.S. For more info please contact me at juliacage@yahoo.com

THEN THE NEXT ONE after I told her the deal was too good and asked her for the SECOND TIME to tell me where she got the bike from:

The bike is in Norway - Oslo but is not a problem because I will pay all shipping taxes for delivery thru www.ww-safe-transaction.com

For start this deal you have to register and they will send you all instructions for this transaction.

thanks,
Julia Cage

DaveT
05-26-2004, 06:36 PM
I doubt very much it's a girl, and doubt even more if 'she's' in Norway. Too many sellers are gunshy dealing with Nigerians, so the scammers set up Yahoo e-mail accounts and claim to be from more 'legitimate' countries.

Just to show you how ridiculous these $1200.00 Treks are, I just bought two bikes in England and had them shipped to me in Washington State via UPS....$$290.00 each, expedited. Which would mean the seller of the Trek would net LESS than a grand! Now c'mon folks, get a small clue here. Sometimes I'm tempted to say if anyone falls for this, they deserve what they get, but I won't.

larkdiggity
05-27-2004, 09:40 AM
I doubt very much it's a girl, and doubt even more if 'she's' in Norway. Too many sellers are gunshy dealing with Nigerians, so the scammers set up Yahoo e-mail accounts and claim to be from more 'legitimate' countries.

Just to show you how ridiculous these $1200.00 Treks are, I just bought two bikes in England and had them shipped to me in Washington State via UPS....$$290.00 each, expedited. Which would mean the seller of the Trek would net LESS than a grand! Now c'mon folks, get a small clue here. Sometimes I'm tempted to say if anyone falls for this, they deserve what they get, but I won't.


That is no kidding. That is what I told my buddy when he called me about it - $1200.00? Somethign smells rotten! Then when she offered to ship, I KNEW it was a scam. I'm glad I decided to do some research along with him so he didn't get screwed. Just like all oft the others, she/he sent he and I the same form letter - that was when I really got suspicious.

Dave_Stohler
05-27-2004, 08:41 PM
What's the link to the auction?

chuot
05-31-2004, 11:59 AM
www.ww-safe-transaction.com is a scam-escorw website. There are millions of them on Ebay. The domain registered on May 8th 2004 and already have over 4 millions members? http://www.whois.sc/ww-safe-transaction.com

The only escow website I can trust is www.escrow.com . 99% of other websites claimed to be a escrow website are scam.

larkdiggity
06-01-2004, 08:33 AM
They removed the ad over the weekend, but that makes me LAUGH about the domain. I didn't even think to check it, but should have. These guys are insane!!!

dagger55
06-19-2004, 04:32 PM
I inquired about a Trek 5900 that seemed to be to good. They replied nicely but when I went to find the bike on E-bay it was gone. I then got this email from a "Boji Iohan" what do you think?

Hello,
Tell me where are you from and tell me your shipping address and
phone number if you really are interested to buy one bike Trek 5900 2004,
CORBON Dura-Ace, because I want to sell it very fast to pay a bill to my
supplier and I don't have to much time.
If so my best price that I can make for a you is $1600.00
shipping included.
I'm handling the liquidation of a big store stock and in this
moment all frame size is ready to be ship: 50, 52, 54, 56, 58, 60, 62cm. The
bike Trek 5900 standard bike is brand new in factory box with all the
warranty papers for 1 year.
It is ready to be shipped in the same day that my buyer wants to
close the deal I meen imediately when I have the payment confirmation.
Let me know If you like the price in order to go ahead with the
deal, If you are ok with my price and we will decide to move forward with
our deal you must know that we will close our deal trough eBay.

With all due respect,
Mar.

I think I will pass :p

DaveT
06-19-2004, 04:39 PM
I think I will pass :p

Pass hell. RUNAWAY!

These scams are becoming so widespread and blatant that people must be falling for them on a regular basis. I have two Serottas for sale and out of the near 50 replies I've received, almost 40 of the are from obvious scammers. Sheesh!

larkdiggity
06-21-2004, 08:16 AM
I wouldn't touch that deal with a 200 foot cattle prod........ Sadly, these scammers have all but ruined ANY chance for a foreigner to do business in these settings. The second you see that screwed up, contrived attempt at English, you need to run away as fast as possible.!!!

msoup72
07-07-2004, 12:47 PM
"She" told me she was a deaf/mute and couldn't call. Yeah. When I told her no way on the western union, she freaked out and told me that she believes in God and could be trusted. She was showing a 2003 trek 5500 calling it a 2004 superlight 5900. She couldn't answer anyquestions and sounded different a couple times. I can just see the crooks all gathered around the computer...stupid.