View Full Version : Is this a scam?


Attilitus
06-28-2004, 04:20 PM
From : <camcampus1@doramail.com>
Sent : Monday, June 28, 2004 4:10 AM
To : (My email here)
Subject : Question from eBay Member: (My title for item here)


| | | Inbox
Question from eBay Member: (My title+item number)

Dear kuja9998,

HELLO SELLER, WE ARE INTERSTED IN THE PURCHASE OF YOUR ITEM OK AND WE WILL BE SENDING YOU A WESTERN UNION MONEY ORDER OK SO BUT DUE TO THE URGENCY OF THE ITEM I WANT IT SHIPPED SAMEDAY YOU RECEIVE AN APPROVAL CONFIRMATION MAIL FROM WESTERN UNION OK ONCE THE CONFIRMATION IS MAILED TO YOU IT MEANS THAT YOUR MONEY IS ON ITS WAY AND WOULD DEFINATELY GET TO YOU OK SO I ALSO WANT YOU TO MAIL ME HOW MANY PIECES OF THE DO YOU HAVE SO I CAN PURCHASE A VERY LARGE QUANTITY FOR MY COMPANY WHICH IS LOCATED IN AFRICA OK SO IF YOU AGREE WITH MY OFFER I WANT YOU TO SEND ME YOUR INFORMATION FOR PAYMENT NAME: ADDRESS: QUANTITY AVAILABLE PRICE: ITEM NUMBER: SO I CAN MAKE THE PAYMENT TODAY AND ONCE THE MONEY ORDER IS APPROVED WE WANT IT SHIPPED OUT TODAY OK GET BACK TO US SO WE CAN ARRANGE FOR IT AS QUICK AS POSSIBLE GET BACK TO US FOR MORE INFORMATIONS REGARDING THIS OFFER FROM OUR COMPANY AND I ALSO WANT YOU TO KNOW THAT IT HAS BEEN A VERY LONG TIME WE HAVE BEEN USING WESTERN UNION MONEY ORDER AND MY SELLERS REALLYLOVE DOING BUSINESS WITH ME OK NB:I NEED AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE QUANTITY OF THE ITEM OK REGARDS STORES IN AFRICA COMPANY. WE AWAIT YOUR REPLY ALL QUESTIONS WILL BE REPLIED TO IN 24HRS TIME OK SO CONTACT US FOR MORE DETAILS OK.IF U DO NOT AGREE DO NOT REPLY US OK. WHY WE ARE PAYING YOU $500.00 FOR EACH. REGARDS. suzannelopezstore

To view the item, go to: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/ebayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=(numberhere)



Thank you,
camcampus1

Never respond to an unsolicited email that includes incentives to buy or sell an item off the eBay Marketplace. If you get such an email, please report it to eBay.

Never pay for your eBay item through instant cash transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram -- such services offer Internet shoppers no protection against fraud.

For more safe trading tips, please visit the eBay Security Center.

Visit eBay, The World's Online Marketplace TM at http://pages.ebay.com/.

-------------------------------------------------
I got rid of my title and other stuff. Obviously this is enoumously suspicious and I am wondering if there is any harm in going along with it on the condition I recieve the money and have it in my hands before ever sending the item. Is there any way for him to steal my account or anything? The link that he gave me seemed to be legitimate as I was already logged in and such... Or was I? I can't fully remember it was early in the morning. Either way just give me your thoughts on this.

PS. The item is worth only about 200-400 bucks.

Dave_Stohler
06-29-2004, 12:12 AM
Yes it's a scam. The money order is a fake.

DaveT
06-29-2004, 07:59 AM
What he wants to do is send you a counterfeit cashiers check for much more than the sales price of your item. The idea is to have you deposit the check at your bank, subtract the amount owed you, and then have you Western Union the balance to him or his shipper right away. The reality is that even though your bank credited your account with the amount of the cashiers check, when it gets returned by the "issuing" band as not being good, your bank will then debit your account for the amount of the cashiers check. So you will be out the money you have sent to him.

Some of the counterfeit check are poor, some are very good. Good enough to fool your bank. See pics of the checks I have received from these guys http://forums.roadbikereview.com/showthread.php?postid=15644#poststop But in any case they are not good enough to have those funds stay in your account.

Follow your gut instincts, they are correct. This is a scam!