View Full Version : Help with Purchase


ZGVelo
07-12-2004, 03:14 PM
I've been riding MTBs for a while, well... kinda. I've been off the bike a while and very recently have started riding again. I own a GT ZR2.0 and have been thinking about a new road frame, considering a Look KG 381, a Dean El Diente, with those I'd just swith the parts over from my GT. The GT rides harsher than I'd like.

I came across a Trek 5900 Superlight for sale online for $1,650. Should I get that or would I be better off with either of the other frames? I'm not a little guy, but with the new road bike I expect to lose some pounds pretty quickly.

He wants me to use an a company called http://www.etrade-escrow.com
to buy the bike. Anyone have any experience there? Seem like it's on the up and up?

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks

TurboTurtle
07-12-2004, 06:03 PM
I've been riding MTBs for a while, well... kinda. I've been off the bike a while and very recently have started riding again. I own a GT ZR2.0 and have been thinking about a new road frame, considering a Look KG 381, a Dean El Diente, with those I'd just swith the parts over from my GT. The GT rides harsher than I'd like.

I came across a Trek 5900 Superlight for sale online for $1,650. Should I get that or would I be better off with either of the other frames? I'm not a little guy, but with the new road bike I expect to lose some pounds pretty quickly.

He wants me to use an a company called http://www.etrade-escrow.com
to buy the bike. Anyone have any experience there? Seem like it's on the up and up?

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks

Unless you can verify that etrade-escrow is legit, I would only use eBay's escrow. There are scams where the scammer sets up an fake escrrow service to make himself look legit.

TF

Smaug
07-12-2004, 07:09 PM
I've been riding MTBs for a while, well... kinda. I've been off the bike a while and very recently have started riding again. I own a GT ZR2.0 and have been thinking about a new road frame, considering a Look KG 381, a Dean El Diente, with those I'd just swith the parts over from my GT. The GT rides harsher than I'd like.

I came across a Trek 5900 Superlight for sale online for $1,650. Should I get that or would I be better off with either of the other frames? I'm not a little guy, but with the new road bike I expect to lose some pounds pretty quickly.

He wants me to use an a company called http://www.etrade-escrow.com
to buy the bike. Anyone have any experience there? Seem like it's on the up and up?

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks

USE CAUTION!!!!

A new Trek 5900 Superlight has an MSRP of almost $4800. Even a couple years old, you aren't going to see one for $1,650. High end bikes such as that are somewhat rare and really don't depreciate that quickly.

If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. I would ask the seller a TON of questions... ask them to send you a picture of the bike with a sheet of paper next to it that has a phrase you supply. (ensures that they actually HAVE the bike... although they could still scam you in other ways) If they have other pics of the actual bike and refuse to take one more such as that, I walk away immediately.

Just my opinion.