RoadBikeReview Member

2006 Trek Madone SL 5.2 Questions (Determining Frame Size, Bike Setup)

I'll be short. I just bought a 2006 Trek Madone SL 5.2 off a lady in California. She said the frame size was 52cm. Now I've been riding it around the block just to get the feel of it and the geometry felt a little wonky but I figured I'd get used to it.

However I was looking at the geometry paper provided by my LBS when they set it up for my body measurements and it looks like they plugged the bike in as a Trek 5200 Size 50.

Which leads me to my questions.
    1) I'd like to verify that the bike is a 52cm frame. Where do I measure from.
    2) Do you think the fact that a Trek 5200 Size 50 is written on the geometry paper is worth taking the bike back to the LBS? I don't know if the frames are the same or what. I'm probably going to go back in a few days anyways to get some tubes and stuff.

Thanks for the help!
    I am a Mechanical Engineer.

Cycling induced anoesis
    Quote Originally Posted by MrDomino
    I'll be short. I just bought a 2006 Trek Madone SL 5.2 off a lady in California. She said the frame size was 52cm. Now I've been riding it around the block just to get the feel of it and the geometry felt a little wonky but I figured I'd get used to it.

However I was looking at the geometry paper provided by my LBS when they set it up for my body measurements and it looks like they plugged the bike in as a Trek 5200 Size 50.

Which leads me to my questions.
    1) I'd like to verify that the bike is a 52cm frame. Where do I measure from.
    2) Do you think the fact that a Trek 5200 Size 50 is written on the geometry paper is worth taking the bike back to the LBS? I don't know if the frames are the same or what. I'm probably going to go back in a few days anyways to get some tubes and stuff.

Thanks for the help!
    Go to this link and the fifth question down answers #1.
    http://www.trekbikes.com/faq/categor...?categoryid=15