RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2008

2008 Giant OCR 2 any good?

So I've been reading through a lot of threads that recommended the Giant OCR2 over the OCR3 because for a little more money you got Tiagra components instead of Sora.

I haven't gone to my LBS yet so this may not be an issue if I can find an 07 model but looking at Giant's website it looks like the 2008 OCR2 now has Sora components when they used to be Tiagra.

If I did have to choose between this years OCR2 & OCR3 would the OCR2 still be a better choice (or leave me in a spot were I can upgrade parts easier)?

I'm new to cycling and my initial plan is for riding to work (14 mile round trip). However cycling looks fun and I can see myself getting into it more once I have the bike.

Any help or advice is appreciated

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by brokentux
    So I've been reading through a lot of threads that recommended the Giant OCR2 over the OCR3 because for a little more money you got Tiagra components instead of Sora.

I haven't gone to my LBS yet so this may not be an issue if I can find an 07 model but looking at Giant's website it looks like the 2008 OCR2 now has Sora components when they used to be Tiagra.

If I did have to choose between this years OCR2 & OCR3 would the OCR2 still be a better choice (or leave me in a spot were I can upgrade parts easier)?

I'm new to cycling and my initial plan is for riding to work (14 mile round trip). However cycling looks fun and I can see myself getting into it more once I have the bike.

Any help or advice is appreciated