RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2010

Am I no longer the weight problem?

I'm 6"1" and currently weigh about 190 lbs. When I started riding last year I was 235+ lbs. I built up an old Bianchi Volpe with comfort being the primary focus. I never even bothered to weigh it until tonight. Ready to ride except water bottles, it is just shy of 30 lbs, according to my bathroom scale. I love this bike and I will never get rid of it but I'm beginning to think that I could cut some time from my training rides with a lighter bike. With my build I really don't think that I will be able to sustain more than another 5-10 lb weight loss. I'm starting to do primarily sustained hill climb training rides and I'm getting passed by lots of riders. On the flip side, there is some pride to be had from navigating a tank up the hills...

PhotonFreak
    Quote Originally Posted by b4_ford View Post
    I'm 6"1" and currently weigh about 190 lbs. When I started riding last year I was 235+ lbs. I built up an old Bianchi Volpe with comfort being the primary focus. I never even bothered to weigh it until tonight. Ready to ride except water bottles, it is just shy of 30 lbs, according to my bathroom scale. I love this bike and I will never get rid of it but I'm beginning to think that I could cut some time from my training rides with a lighter bike. With my build I really don't think that I will be able to sustain more than another 5-10 lb weight loss. I'm starting to do primarily sustained hill climb training rides and I'm getting passed by lots of riders. On the flip side, there is some pride to be had from navigating a tank up the hills...