Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2018

Bike recommendation for a beginner...

Hi all, the last time I rode bicycle before last month was...30+ years ago! I got a cheap brand new Shogun MTB to ride around the neighborhood last month and I like it so I'm now looking at getting a better road bike to ride more.

I read as much as I could on the web about road bike, Shimano, shifter, frame etc... but I'm still learning.

I'm 5'8, 31" inseam, 167 lbs male.

I went to REI and sat on their $1300 ARD 1.2 MEDIUM and it fits me fine and I almost bought it on the spot but they didn't have one in stock and then I got cold feet as I didn't really know what it has.

Any recommendation for a < $1000 road bike from the web? Or < $500 to get my feet wet? Yes, I read about BD but they have so many models that I don't even know where to start.

I have been maintaining my own cars and motorcycles so I think I should be able to handle the assembly/tune-up/maintenance of a bicycle, after learning more on the web :-) I already have lots of air tools and metric tools and now it's probably a good excuse to get some more new ones for the home garage to work on bicycle.

Thank you so much in advance.
    mike-
    Last edited by mcs001; 2 Weeks Ago at 11:26 AM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2018
    Furthermore:

- I really like to buy from the web and have it shipped to my house, instead of having to deal with a local LBS. It's not really about saving money, but about saving the hassle of having to deal with the LBS people.

- If I buy from places like Amazon, bikesdirect etc..., do I need to disassemble everything, then grease, oil, reassemble before 1st ride? At the minimum, do they usually grease the BB/crank, headset, wheel hubs etc... before they ship?