RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2018

To Buy or Not To Buy!

Hi everyone,

Need some help with a used bike purchase. I'm new to road bikes, and I'm purchasing one mainly for a sprint triathlon, and likely for further riding/getting into the sport from there.

I was hoping to spend around $500 for a nice used bike.

I can across this one: Louis Garneau Axis SL2
    It's a large (I'm about 5'10"). Previous owner says its in great shape, approx. 2700 km since Summer 2016.

https://www.kijiji.ca/v-road-bike/ci...ationFlag=true

He's willing to do $500. Do you think I should pull the trigger?

Thanks!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2018
    Ideally looking for some advice on the value of the purchase. Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2005
    I turn (sell) a fair amount of my gear usually within a couple years. Generally, I try and get half what the original MSRP was. Obviously, some gear, whether a wheels set or a complete bike to a cassette will be priced slightly more or less than half MSRP. For example take a cassette. If I'm selling it it's probably near the end of it's useful life and I'd sell that for much less than half. OTOH If I were to sell the Enve carbon wheels set that I just purchased this year I'd price it for much more than half MSRP.

In your case if $500 is close to half MSRP and the bike is decent shape as it should be with only 2700km then it's a good buy imho.

Inching to 1000 (again)
    I can't speak to the value, but you have to make sure it's sized properly for you. At your height, you could be either a medium or large. Depends on the actual size of the frame in cm. Test ride of 20-30 minutes should give you an idea.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Quote Originally Posted by Slim Chance View Post
    I can't speak to the value, but you have to make sure it's sized properly for you. At your height, you could be either a medium or large. Depends on the actual size of the frame in cm. Test ride of 20-30 minutes should give you an idea.