RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2017

Comparison of two bikes

I am new to road cycling. I purchased a used Canondale CAAD8 54". I ride with my wife who has been on a Trek 52". I am 54 years old and 6'5" 210lbs. We had our bikes tuned at a bike shop and used a web site to figure seat height and position. We average 10 miles per ride and have traveled 250 total miles since early May this year. Our terrain is very hilly with around 800 feet total elevation loss/gain per ride. I recently visited a bike shop and purchased a Specialized Ales E5 Sport 61". I have made two rides with it while my wife began using the Canondale. I can feel a considerable loss in speed and actually now my wife is smoking me by traveling easily 3 times my speed where as before we actually traveled the same speed basically. On long graduated hills I would go twice her speed and on steep short hills she would double my speed. But now I cannot even stay with her on flat or any hill of any type. Is there an adjustment that I can make to correct this extreme change or am I actually just comparing apples and oranges with these two bikes. Thanks for any advice.
    Last edited by JayGH; 07-07-2017 at 07:55 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by JayGH View Post