Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Component Envy?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012

Component Envy?

I'm fairly new to road biking and am educating myself. I've read many threads about "buying a new bike," and appreciate all the good advice I'm getting.

I am an engineer and understand the "trickle down" theory of bike parts. And it appears even entry-level bikes ($700-$800) are getting better and better, every couple of years, right?

But much of the advice ends with a sort of a caveat, like "...but if were me, I'd try to find at least a 105-equipped bike..." or something along those lines. I have read all I can about durability, lightness, feel, and quality, and how it improves up the ladder of components.

So how can a newbie really decide if it's "worth it" to throw a couple hundred dollars more toward the SAME bike but with a rung higher component group? Forgive my ignorance, but how different can they be?

Thanks.

We have met the enemy...
    Quote Originally Posted by Oversteer View Post
    I'm fairly new to road biking and am educating myself. I've read many threads about "buying a new bike," and appreciate all the good advice I'm getting.

I am an engineer and understand the "trickle down" theory of bike parts. And it appears even entry-level bikes ($700-$800) are getting better and better, every couple of years, right?

But much of the advice ends with a sort of a caveat, like "...but if were me, I'd try to find at least a 105-equipped bike..." or something along those lines. I have read all I can about durability, lightness, feel, and quality, and how it improves up the ladder of components.

So how can a newbie really decide if it's "worth it" to throw a couple hundred dollars more toward the SAME bike but with a rung higher component group? Forgive my ignorance, but how different can they be?

Thanks.