RoadBikeReview Member

Drops vs Hoods: When to ride each?

I am a road bike newbie so this may be a question with an obvious answer but I'm embracing my ignorance. When should I be riding in the drops and when should I be on the hoods?

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2009
    Up to you.

The "normal" way to do it lately is to ride the hoods most of the time, and get in the drops for sprinting and descending. Ideally, the handlebars are positioned so that the hoods are the most comfortable place to ride for an extended period. Some riders put their handlebars higher, and ride in the drops much more of the time, and some riders could cut their drops off and not miss them.

A wheelist
    Ride on the hoods. If you need to be lower and more aerodynamic, just bend the elbows so the forearms are horizontal - that's more aero than forearms pointing down at the drops.
    Mike T's home wheelbuilding site - dedicated to providing Newby wheelbuilder's with motivation, information and resources.

Everything above, up to that blue line, is IMO IMO.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Switch positions every so often to relieve strain, pressure and stiffness on any one area and also helps blood flow.

Also depends on the training for me. I will spend more time on the drops during hard training than I do at this time of year.

It is up to you in the end.

wim
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2005

Some thoughts.

As said, the hoods are the place where most riders, including pros, spend most of their time nowadays. If in the right place, they offer a good blend of comfort and aerodynamics.

But assuming that you're a little more aerodynamic on the drops than on the hoods, ride on the drops to eke out that last bit of speed. when riding by yourself (not drafting) at the limits of your strength. An example would be during a time trial, or when trying to reach a group ahead of you and not making as much progress on the hoods as you need to make.