RoadBikeReview Member

Lost energy after long break during 50 mile ride

This is my first time I post something even though I visit the site almost every day and I've learned a lot.

Recently I did the Tour de Cure and I did the 50 mile ride. At about the 14 mile mark we had our first rest stop and my riding partner needed work done on his bike. It took about 30 minutes before we were on our way. By then we were the last ones. It was quite a hilly ride but so far I had been doing pretty good on the hills. But as soon as we started again on the first big hill I just had no power and it seemed that hill just zapped all my power. After that I felt like I had no energy and at one point I considered quitting but somehow I kept going.

The first week in April I did a 62 mile ride which was pretty flat and I did pretty good but then I developed a throat infection and I rode maybe 50 miles after that until the Tour de Cure.

Could the lack of riding have affected my stamina at the Tour de Cure or was it the long wait after the 1st rest stop? Or was it that I was just not prepared for all the hills? Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012
    Sounds to me like your body shut down. You did 14 miles and then rested so the body said "Ok we are done for the day" and quit. I think the lack of riding since early april did not help you any as I bet most fo those rides were probably short.

So you in effect trained for and tricked your body into "short ride" mode. I was on a long ride once where I was about 3hrs in got a flat. So it took me about 20 min to change it not particularly rushing much. After that I still had 30 min ride to get home and I had nothing left in tank for that 30 min. My body came close to "rest and recovery" mode. At the time 4 hr rides were a bit on the long side for me so stopping at the 3hr mark is sort of why my body was used to.
    Joe
    Road Bike - Trek 5200 | MTB - 2003 KHS Alite 4000 26" Hardtail