RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2016

Making Strides But Have Questions

I'm big on hike, bike, and boarding. I recently made the head in dive to pure road bike. I'm also a Clyde. I'm just a beginner with not enough time!! I've gotten lots of 10 mile rides and over the last week I've gotten 2 25mile rides in. Sore ass and some elbow/arm fatigue. Nothing I think is due to a bad fit...maybe still need tweaking. Working on that.

What I'm wondering is what is a decent baseline for a century...by baseline I mean cadence, mph avg, and time. I do realize it's often rider specific but some generalizations would be nice. Something to see a mid point and something to see as a goal.

JSR
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2006
    Try to keep the cadence to 80 - 100 rpm and the other metrics will report themselves to you.

100 miles is an accomplishment in its own right. If you did your first one under six hours, or 16 mph, you'd earn an oak leaf cluster.

gazing from the shadows
    Quote Originally Posted by biscut View Post
    ...over the last week I've gotten 2 25mile rides in. ...

I do realize it's often rider specific but some generalizations would be nice. Something to see a mid point and something to see as a goal.
    Generalizations? Sure thing. Off to Bicycling magazine!

The 8-Week Training Plan to Ride a Century | Bicycling

Check the chart at the bottom, and consider yourself in week 1.

There are more comprehensive training guides online if you like. But that one is a good basic 8 week plan for a beginner who is looking to finish without killing themselves.
    Stout beers under trees, please.

tlg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    What I'm wondering is what is a decent baseline for a century...by baseline I mean cadence, mph avg, and time. I do realize it's often rider specific but some generalizations would be nice. Something to see a mid point and something to see as a goal.