RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2013

New Cyclist, need suggestion

Hello everyone,

I am new to the whole bike and cyclist scene and since I am going to be taking some summer courses at my campus I thought it would be awesome to bike to campus instead of driving!

Two of my friends are currently cyclists with a fixie and a road bike [FUJI]. As a beginner, what is a good brand and model bike to aim for?

Friend number 1 has a frame size of 52, same height as me; however, the guy at the store suggest I get a 50 instead. Any thoughts? i am 5'6. My other friend is 5'4 and has a 52, so I am not sure which to go for since they both are different in height but same frame size.

price range if possible: 500 to 700 USD

I really want to get a FUJI Road bike, but not sure what to get.

Any help will do.
    Thank you in advance!
    Last edited by ACTIVATEnow; 04-27-2013 at 11:15 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member

New Cyclist, need suggestion

Your height isn't the most important figure -- rather, it's your inseam. The reason is that two people can be the same height, but one can have a shorter torso and longer legs, while the other may have a long torso and shorter legs; the two would likely need different-size frames, despite their identical height.

Traditionally, the classic sizing technique was to take your inseam measurement in centimeters (while in cycling shorts and stocking feet), then multiply that number by 0.65 to determine your proper frame size (and by 0.883 to figure out how high your saddle should be from the center of your bottom bracket). In recent years, with the variety of new compact frame geometries, that formula isn't the hard-and-fast rule it used to be, but it's a good starting point.