RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012

New road bike, never rode one before. (brake problems)

Hi I'm new to road/racer bikes, so new that I just go out in jeans and t shirts :P I realise I probably look like a right Olympic inspired idiot, but I don't really care lol, besides I've been watching eBay for a road bike throughout all of summer and I don't really watch the Olympics.

Anyway the problem I'm having is that I don't feel safe with the brakes. I like to ride in the first position with my hands in the regular mountain bike spot, but then I have to jump forward in case I need to brake, which just doesn't feel natural at all.

Also when I'm in the second hand position, i.e. hand still on top but forward, I can just about touch the brake, but I don't feel like I have the power to fully clench them. But when I go into third position, as in hands on the lower part of bars, only my index finger can reach the brakes which again gives me a very unsafe feeling.

Now I've tried turning the bars up and down, but there is no sweet spot, it's either perfect one way, and untouchable the other, or in between where I feel unsafe with both positions.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    despite the fact that you have given us some good info, w/o knowing what kind of brake levers and bars you have, who knows? how tall are you and what size bike are you one? there are some pretty huge variables here that could make a big difference in what kind of advice you get. i'm guessing it's one of two things.

the bike is way to big for you.
    or...
    the bike is very old and the brake levers just suck. there have been lots of changes in the last 10-20 yrs w/ regards to comfort and function.
    i work for some bike racers...
    2013 Trek Madone 5.9 w/ '12 SRAM Red
    2010 Cervelo T1 sprint bike
    Ruger 10-22TD
    Smith&Wesson M&P 15-22
    Smith&Wesson M&P 9
    oh, those belong in another forum

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012
    Ah right we'll I'll give you some info's