Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2013

New To Road Biking - Need Suggestions!

Hello,

My name is David and I recently have gained interest in road biking. I am not new to bikes, I am just new to road bikes. I have been mountain biking for about two years now and enjoy it. I would just like to add another similar hobby to the list.

I am on a budget and plan on purchasing a used bike either locally or online (If anyone can suggest a few websites for used bikes, please post!). I am looking to spend anywhere up to about $650-700ish. But would like to spend less than that for a used road bike!

(I do understand, you get what you pay for. I am just on a tight budget at the moment as a student and plan to just find a nice used (or new) road bike for my budget)

I found this Felt on my local Craigslist and I would like to hear the pro's and con's about this particular bike. I would also appreciate it if anyone could point me in the correct direction on other bikes as well!

Felt Z100 - Found on Memphis's Craigslist.
    Felt Bike

Thank you,

- David
    Last edited by purp_le28; 06-09-2013 at 07:40 AM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2013
    I am also from the Memphis, TN area if anyone on this forum relates to my area.

wyrd bi ful rd
    Go to your local LBS and try out a few bikes for size. Sizing if very different for road bikes.

Some manufacturer sites are able to size a bike for you but that is a rough guide and should be backed up with an actual demo. Granted that a ride around the car park may not give you much but it will at least set you on your way. If possible try to take the bike out for a longer distance.

Cycling induced anoesis
    First thing to do is pin down your sizing requirements. Not by frame size (they vary by manufacturers and models), but by geo measurements. You can do this by opting for a standard fitting at your LBS for around $50, but some will give you a cursory fitting free of charge.