RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2013

New Road Cyclist Gear and Accessories

Hello Everyone,

I'm quite new to the whole road cycling arena, and none of my friends do road cycling.

I just wanted to ask if people typically carry a heavy D-lock with them. I usually cycle alone, and will at times need to stop off to go relieve myself or get a drink. Given that we pay a premium just to save 2lbs off our bike that it would seem contradictory to carry around a heavy D-lock. I've heard the cable locks are pretty much useless. I'm just wondering what everyone else does. And does everyone also carry an entire arsenal of emergency equipment... pumps, tubes, tools, flat repair, first aid....etc.

And before anyone tells me... I already know that shaving 10lbs off my belly would do wonders instead of thinking about equipment weight.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012
    I don't carry a lock, but don't stop where my bike is really out of reach either and that includes a few century rides. I carry snacks and water bottles to cover the ride, and find a place to relieve myself off the road somewhere without any problems.
    Trek Domane 5.2
    Cannondale Synapse 3 Ultegra Disc
    Fuji Cross Comp
    Trek Dual Sport 8.4 (sold)
    1969 Camaro Pace car - numbers matching frame off resto
    1969 Camaro Coupe

Cycling induced anoesis
    I never leave my bike, so don't carry a lock - and know next to nothing about them, so will leave that to another member.

I don't consider carrying a flat repair kit (and essentials) "an arsenal", nor do I think of them as emergency items. IME flats are pretty much inevitable, so it's best to be prepared and practice the mechanics of the repair (removing/ reinstalling tires/ tubes) before you have to.

If you want to travel light (I do), get a mini-wedge saddle bag, tube, patch kit, tire levers and CO2/ cartridges, then learn (at home) how to use it. Two tubes, a multi-tool (and just about anything else) will necessitate a larger bag.