RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012

padded bike shorts?

I don't like padded bike shorts, I find them most uncomfortable. Read something about "jammers" guess it some type of swimwear. Would something like this be a workable alternative to a padded short? Also trying to work up the confidance to not wear baggy shorts (rule #19 violation) over my bike shorts, is this normal?
    2011 Schwinn Paramount series 7
    2012 Schwinn Searcher Sport

Fecal indicator
    jammers are mid-thigh lycra swim trunks. I use them for doing laps in the pool. wouldn't consider them for cycling tho. at least not for any distance over 5 miles.

the pad in cycling shorts is mostly for wicking sweat away, not providing a 'cushion'...

and riding a Paramount with baggies is just wrong.
    eff all y'all...

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012
    Mac,
    I am pretty new to cycling, but I do use padded shorts and like them. One of the main advantages of their design is they try to eliminate seams in places that could be uncomfortable. If you can find some other shorts that do a similar thing I would think it would be worth a try.
    I wear them under thin athletic shorts as I am also trying to work up the nerve also. Maybe if I do some group rides with the LBS like I am planning then it wouldn't feel as out of place.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012
    By uncomfortable I mean chaffing and soreness from riding in padded shorts. I now ride with box briefs under my baggy shorts and have no issued doing 20 miles. Just need to find something that doesn't have all that junk down there rubbing all the wrong stuff.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Quote Originally Posted by mac4095 View Post
    By uncomfortable I mean chaffing and soreness from riding in padded shorts. I now ride with box briefs under my baggy shorts and have no issued doing 20 miles. Just need to find something that doesn't have all that junk down there rubbing all the wrong stuff.