Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2017

Pedals and Shoes Question/Recomendations

Hi guys, newbie here, picked up my first road bike last fall and so far I'm having a blast with it. Spent my budget on the bike so it just has plastic flat pedals, looking to add clipless pedals and shoes now and I have a few questions.

I'm usually a believer in buy good quality once instead of going cheap and then getting something better later. Although I realize sometimes you don't really know what you want until you have had something and tried it out. Am I better off buying a good set of pedals and shoes right off the bat, or should I just get some entry level stuff and then look to upgrade later?

I have done some research online and it seems like Shimano and Look pedals seem to be popular, which one would be better for someone who has never clipped in before?

Any features in either pedals or shoes I should be looking for? Must haves or things to steer clear of?

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I like Speedplay light action. Double-sided entry, easy to clip in and out, lots of float, and durable if you keep it greased.

Strongly suggest that whatever system you go with you get from lbs. You'll need help setting it up (cleat placement, etc) and you'll want to try several shoes.

Edit: Forgot to mention there's no shame using mtb pedals on a road bike. Walking is much easier.
    Last edited by mtrac; 06-20-2017 at 04:34 PM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2012
    ^that mostly... especially the point about mtb pedals, they are pretty simple and can be more practical (depends on the person though)

you don't need to go too spendy on pedals, generally they have the same action through the range, they just get lighter the more $$$ you spend. But shoes always the diminishing returns, but go for decent quality not cheap. And try heaps, you're going to be spending time in them, you want them comfortable.