RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2012

Raleigh Revenio 1.0 for a first road bike?

I've been riding a Trek mountain bike for a few years now, and I want to upgrade to my first road bike. REI is having a sale now, and I have a $350 gift card I won a while ago I still need to spend. I was wondering if the Raleigh Revenio 1.0 (can't link it...) is decent for the price, or if I'm cheaping out and should get something else. I could only find a few comments on the Revenio line on the internets, and not much more on Raleigh in general, so I'm a bit hesitant. I also am considering the Scott Metrix 30, which they didn't have in store, but is a cheaper hybrid with components that seem as good (maybe better?).

Some background: I typically ride once a week, 20-35 mile trips, which I want to bump to 30-40 and be able to hit 50 by the end of the year. I don't go very fast, partially due to not trying to and partially lacking the physical ability, but I do want to step it up a bit (can't do 50 miles if it takes 5 hours) and I figure a road bike should add a couple mph.

I tried out the Raleigh in store and I'm honestly not sure what to think because it was my first time on a road bike and I could only take it out on a couple streets behind the store. The drop bars felt weird and the ride was jarring compared to my Trek, but I'm wondering if that's just something you get used to on any road bike. I tried a couple hybrids that felt more comfortable, but like I said I want to go 50 miles and from what I've read that's road bike territory.