RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2005

The right bike for me

Hello all -- I'm looking to purchase my first bike, but I'm a college student, so money is definitely going to be an issue. I'm not looking to spend over $250, and I have some requirements that can hopefully be met. I'm totally inexperienced with any of the technical aspects of cycling, so forgive my poor jargon.

1) I don't want one of those thin-wheeled bikes, they make me nervous. Also, however, I don't want one that has extremely thick wheels with those stick-outy rubber pieces.

2) Tying into the last comment -- I do not plan to ride this bike on any sort of rough terrain -- the roughest I will go is a patch of grass in central park.

3) I want bike geared to women.

4) I want as comfortable a seat as possible (preferably a banana seat, but that's gonna be tough)

5) I definitely need handlebar brakes (as opposed to wheel brakes).

6) Finally, and by no means less important, I want the bike to have the ability to accelerate to a fairly high speed.

Any and all suggestions welcome! THANK YOU ALL!
    Last edited by DecafPoetess; 06-19-2005 at 10:39 PM.

Cycling Boob
    i was going to suggest a cruiser but you said you didn't want bikes with too thick wheels.

the thing is what you're looking for hasn't been in production yet. if you want to be able to accelerate quickly without that much effort, youre looking at a road bike. but all your other requirements point to cruisers/ mountain bikes.

maybe cyclocross? and just change the wheels?

Old and Fixed, Moderator
    The catagory of bike you are looking for is called Hybrid or Comfort bikes. Many companies including Trek, Giant and Specialized sell them. Here is an example of the Trek

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW
    Dave Hickey/ Fort Worth

My 3Rensho Blog: http://vintage3rensholove.blogspot.com/

a Freds Fred