RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2010

On the road with my 2010 Secteur Elite

Just picked up my new Secteur Elite last week. Was going to get the 2011 Elite with Apex but I got a pretty good deal on a 2010 which has a Shimano 105 triple (the savings from not going '11 was enough to buy most of my startup gears so that was the deciding factor). Since I'm new to road cycles my ego can handle a triple. Then again I guess a triple is just a "standard double" with a bailout option.

Have been riding all week. Really enjoy the bike and have no complaints. Very well suited to me. Its a 56 frame. I got the 105 SPD-SL pedals and Specialized BG shoes. The shoes are amazingly comfortable and as a noob all I can say about the pedals is that they seem to do what they should. So I've gone clipless right off the bat and.. knock on wood... no troubles so far either clipping in or out (although if I had to pick..clipping in requires a bit more focus for me than clipping out). I really like the setup much better than my old diamondback mtb setup which I had years ago.

This week, I can only fit in 10-12 mile rides in the morning or after work. On the weekend I'll go 20-25.

I didn't get a real fine-tune fitting yet just an initial setup with the assembler. Figure I will break both me and the bike in together first. I got a new helmet, bib and jersey. nothing pro 'n loud just plain and functional. (and the other usuals: bottle, repair kit, tool and seat bag, etc)

I also got a Cateye Strada and for now I'm really working on this whole spinning thing. I keep mashing away so working on developing good fundamentals will be an adjustment.

I've been scouring online for beginning road cycling resources and trying to soak up info when I'm not riding, I'm reading about riding. Any suggestions or links would be appreciated.
    Last edited by abudoggie; 08-31-2010 at 07:52 PM.

Cycling induced anoesis