Thread: Ross bikes?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2007

Question Ross bikes?

Not sure about this. Looking to get onto an entry level road bike. From the Wiki article it said they were made in my current hometown (Allentown PA) until 1989. Apparently the quality was lower but some models were a mid range type of bike.

A family member knows someone who is selling one for $50 and I'm going to see it Friday. Is this a bad idea regardless? I'm a newb so all I know is I want about a 56-58CM frame or 22-23" frame. I don't know what to look for as a bad sign, what derailers are good/bad/acceptable. I know the tires are bad from storage so I'm expecting $50 ontop of the buy price.

Advice?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2004
    Take a picture of it then post it and we will tell you what we think. Other than that just make sure that it fits you.
    With people like Peter P. around, I am done posting on this website. Mean people have driven me off after 9 plus years. Good luck newbies beware.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2007
    Will do. I'm hoping it is in nice condition. I need to figure out what I should look at. I'm gonna make sure to take a close look at the cassettes but without tires I won't be able to test it's shifting under load.

still shedding season
    I saved my pennies and bought a Ross Utopian years ago. Eventually it languished in the basement for too many years until I realized I needed to get in better shape. A few years ago it was still just fine when I began to ride it again. I didn't know how to fix it up so I bought a new bike, and spent some time the next winter learning about it. It's a little too small for me now, but I haven't parted with it.