RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2012

Shimano Road Racing and Road Touring Pedals

Are the cleats the same for both these pedal types?

I'm new to clipless, so I was thinking about getting the Shimano PD-A530 first then later on deciding if I want to go to a full clipless pedal. Just wondering if the shoes/cleats I get can be used on both.

Thanks

Cycling induced anoesis
    Quote Originally Posted by milspecs View Post
    Are the cleats the same for both these pedal types?

I'm new to clipless, so I was thinking about getting the Shimano PD-A530 first then later on deciding if I want to go to a full clipless pedal. Just wondering if the shoes/cleats I get can be used on both.

Thanks
    Nope. Shimano road pedals (EX: 105, Ultegra) take SPD-SL (3 hole) cleats. The pedals you referenced take SPD (2 hole) cleats.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2012
    Ok, but are the cleats that you attach to the bottom of the shoes interchangeable? Not sure if that makes any sense...

Cycling induced anoesis
    Ok, but are the cleats that you attach to the bottom of the shoes interchangeable? Not sure if that makes any sense...
    I think I understand what you're saying. You're asking if the 2 bolt cleats will fit the 3 hole soles of shoes, correct?

If I have that right, no, they don't match up. But there are shoes that are compatible with (and accept) both SPD and SPD-SL cleats, so when visiting shops, tell them your plans and they should be able to guide you to the models that'll accept both types of cleats.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2012
    Thanks! That's what I was trying to say.

I didn't want to have to buy two pairs of shoes. Thanks again

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012
    I might have misunderstood - but you won't want to be changing the cleats on the shoes each time you go out... although you may be able to fix either type of cleat into them.