Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2009

So what makes road bikes so fast?

A brief introduction before I get to my question:
    So I am relatively new to cycling (bought a new Trek 7.2 FX hybrid bike last september to ride around my college campus) I rode to my classes basically every day that there wasn't snow on the ground and a few weeks ago I did a 50 mile charity ride and I think I might be hooked. I've begun lusting over road bikes for the past few weeks but I probably won't be able to get one until next summer at the earliest. I just bought a bike less than a year ago and I'm college student (enough said I think). Also I want to start racking up the miles before I take to plunge to make sure this is really something I want to do.

Anyways, on to my question. I know its a combination of several things, but what is the most significant factor makes road bikes faster than hybrid bikes like my Trek FX? I usually do about 25 miles at a time. Now I consider myself relatively fit but according to my bike computer, I only average about 15 mph. Having read the forums I see that people are averaging up to 25-30mph. Going downhill as fast as I can my max speed has only hit 29 mph. So what makes the biggest difference between a road vs hybrid bike? Is it the more aggressive/aerodynamic geometry of a road bike? Is it the weight (my bike is around 28lbs vs. the average entry level road bike is ~20lbs)? Is it the wheels (I know most road bikes have 700x23mm tires where I have much wider 700x35mm tires)? Or is it me? Do I just need to run my ego over with my bike and tell myself I'm not as fast as I think I am?

RoadBikeReview Member
    biggest thing is the more aero position it puts your body in, usually the better gearing as well, i would say the bike being STIFFER is a HUGE factor...when I stomp the pedals on my road bike it just GOES. (caad9)