RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2014

Speed vs. Cadence. Vs. Power

Hello,

I am new to biking and have so far just been "riding." I have a computer that gives me basic information (MPH, Distance, etc.) but I haven't paid too much attention to it. I want to start training for a triathlon which will have a 35k bike, but I have no idea if I should be paying more attention to cadence, speed, or just how my legs feel. Some people have told me I need to get a cadence computer, some people say that cadence isn't that important and I should get a heart monitor, and some people say I should get a power meter (this is out of the question due to cost).

What are your opinions, I would like to be competitive in the bike, and don't want to burn my legs out riding in the wrong gear.

Thanks!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2006
    You don't need a cadence sensor. use the stopwatch function on your computer. Count one leg's rpms for 6 seconds and add a zero for your cadence. Anywhere from 80-100 rpms is good. There's a lot of individual variation with regard to cadence, but 80-100 covers anyone interested in performance.

Cadence will drop on hills to as low as 60-70rpm, however.

banned
    Jul 2011
    You don't NEED anything but all are helpful. Cadence is very good to have. Keeps you spinning and not mashing. Save your legs for when you really need them.

Heart rate gives you a clue as to how hard you are working and what is sustainable.

Power is the best. I guess. Not willing to make that outlay yet.

wim
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2005
    It might be helpful to have a general and very simplified understanding of the relationships: