RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2017

Red face Starting Cycling, Have a couple of questions (need to find a buddy)

Hi,
    I'm new to cycling, although I owned a mountain bike a few years back i haven't ridden one in a while but i wanted get back into it so I'm think of buying the raleigh criterium (https://www.raleigh.co.uk/criterium-15770) can someone tell me if this is a good bike, I don't know how far i'll go with this but i'm thinking of entering races in the future if i'm able to. Is there a good local cycle shop where I can buy a road cycle for around under 500 or is this the best one i can get for that price?

my second question is how should i start out? right now im 75kg and I work out but I wouldn't call my self fit since i run out of stamina really quickly, so how long should i ride? how much time should i spend every day? and how would i start training.

and lastly, is anyone to willing to go cycling with me? I live in North East London.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Well, for, what, $650, it's not a bad deal, but you might get more in a used bike for that price. Shimano Claris is kinda cheap, and the wheels are an unknown. I'd bet you could get a lightly-used 105-level bike for about the same price. I certainly wouldn't suggest that this bike you are looking at is 'competitive', but starting out on a full-race bike would be a mistake.
    "L'enfer, c'est les autres"

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2017
    Quote Originally Posted by No Time Toulouse View Post
    Well, for, what, $650, it's not a bad deal, but you might get more in a used bike for that price. Shimano Claris is kinda cheap, and the wheels are an unknown. I'd bet you could get a lightly-used 105-level bike for about the same price. I certainly wouldn't suggest that this bike you are looking at is 'competitive', but starting out on a full-race bike would be a mistake.