RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2016

Thank you all for changing my life!!!

Name:  bike in classroom.jpg
Views: 499
Size:  29.2 KB

I am a sixth grade teacher in Michigan. I started the school year with out a car as I gave my two cars to my two kids in college. I live about 12 miles from work and I decided I would bike. The summer of 2016 I got on my bike and started riding 20-40 miles a day. When school started I didn't want to stop.

I have ridden more than 4,000 miles and I am so loving every day. I did have about 22 days where I did not ride as I never bought the tires with studs etc. I will never go back to driving a car. Each day has made me happier and happier. It is amazing all the problems of a day you can work out and all the plans for the day you can prepare for on your way. I never knew the moon was so beautiful at 5:40 A.M. and that the birds came to life almost exactly at 6:00 A.M. I have seen glorious sun rises and have had amazing encounters with wildlife.

The folks here who advised me and encouraged me I thank you. I feel like I have had a breath of new life blown into me.

Spring has hit here in Michigan and my bike trail is filling up with folks on bikes, walking, and jogging. I liked it better in the bitter cold where I would never see a soul. I'm learning to share the trails and enjoy seeing others out and about.

Who would have known that a lifestyle change could bring about such peace. This years class has sooooo many challenges and children from such heartbreaking situations...however, when you get on the bike and ride....you seem to be able to peddle your way through them and by the time I get to work or home...life is a little better.

For Christmas & birthdays many of the kids and families are buying bikes...so the positive influence has also been very cool.

Thanks to all of you for your help and advice.

I look forward to buying boots to ride in for the snow, and shoes for the rain. For now it has been an adventure!