RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2011

Ulnar nerve problems. Is it wrong technique?

Ever since I started riding I've been having problems with my right hand's ulnar nerve (the pinky one). It really limits how much riding I can do. My question is are you supposed to use your lower back to hold yourself up, or is all your upper body weight supposed to be supported by your hands?

I do have a weak lower back, and I've been having some back problems these past 12 months. So maybe that's my problem? Please chime in.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2009
    I had the same problem, but I was\am riding a flat bar commuter so the first may not apply:
    1. Get some Ergon grips.
    2. Yes, strengthen your core so your hands don't support your weight. This is probably the most important IMO.
    3. Move your hands around a lot.

I've found that on longer rides the numbness in my right hand is coming back. My core is pretty weak at this time and I'm not moving my hands around as much as I should. I just got a bike with drop bars so I suspect my weak core is going to start giving me big problems real soon.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2009
    Two things.

Yes, your lower back, and core muscles in general, are part of keeping you stable. When I'm being "good," I do some crunches every morning, I think it helps. If you have a standing climbing style and a weak core, that's another thing that can cause your back to do a painful freakout. So can climbing in the saddle, especially if you run out of gears... basically this is a sport whose participants can really benefit from a strong core, but the sport itself doesn't do enough to develop it, and you can probably get a good return on spending a little additional time off the bike working on your core.