RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2010

What to Buy? Schwinn Katana vs Tommaso Tiempo

Hey everybody,

I'm new to the road biking scene and was looking to buy an entry level road bike. The schwinn goes for around 330 on amazon.com and the tommaso Tiempo for 350 on Giantnerd.com

Schwinn Katana: http://www.amazon.com/Schwinn-Katana...pr_product_top

Tommaso Tiempo: http://www.giantnerd.com/tommaso-tie...3139372d392d33

Im a huge rookie, but so far from what I've gathered the main differences are that the tommasso is about 3-4 pounds heavier and has a steel frame versus the aluminum frame on the schwinn. Also, the brake calipers, levers, and gearing all seem do be considerably better on the tomasso compared to the schwinn but the calipers levers and transmission can easily be upgraded on the schwinn in the future. The schwinn has a lighter frame which will give me speed but the steel on the tomasso will reduce vibration (I will ride the bike around 7 miles a day) The schwinn has 14 speed- tommasso 24 speed. the schwinn wins in looks in my opinion and im thinking of getting it just based on the fact that i can upgrade the brake and transmission system thats already been complained about. So far havent read any negative reviews on the tomasso but thats because there have only been 3 reviews for it. Based on the reviews for the schwinn people have had a few problems with flat tires and brakes. Looks like they outsourced this schwinn to china and packed it up with cheap components for beginners??

Anyway, the schwinn has better looks and a lighter frame but crappier brakes and crappier transmission. My route has a decent amount of uphill biking involved so that will factor in to my decision. Is it illogical to think that the 24 speed on the tommasso will make up for its heavier frame compared to the schwinn in terms on riding the bike uphill?

Any input would be great!

Thanks
    -phil

Cycling induced anoesis
    Welcome to RBR, phil.