RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012

Question 2012 Imola - No Longer Reynolds 631

Greetings all, I'm new here (and new to the venerated world of Bianchi!). I'm on the cusp of buying a new 2012 Bianchi Imola (or possibly Vigorelli) and very excited.

I was wondering if anyone with experience riding the Reynolds 631 Vigorelli/Imola frames (or anyone, really) could comment on Bianchi's 'generic' chromoly steel.

A bit of background -- I've been riding my carbon Trek Madone for about five years, but it's now stuck at home with my folks, and I'm in a new city where I'd like a bike I can use for urban/commuter purposes as well as longer rides on the weekends. I thought the Imola fit the bill perfectly. It's already a bit more than I intended to spend, but because of the Reynolds issue, I'm wondering if it would be wiser to upgrade to the Vigorelli.

(The Bianchi website is a bit confusing - it says the Imola has "the same frame and fork as the Vigorelli." The Vigorelli is still 631, but the Imola is actually Bianchi's own chromoly. The archived Imola pages specify 631; the 2012 page does not.)

As for other differences, they are principally (1) the groupset (Tiagra on Imola, Sram Apex on Vigorelli) and (2) color (blue on Imola, celeste on Vigorelli). As for the groupset, I test rode the Imola and found the Tiagra to work surprisingly well. As for color, the Imola blue is really gorgeous. This may be heresy, but I've never been a huge fan of celeste -- although celeste may be an asset if I need to sell the bike in the next couple years (not unlikely).

So, basically I'm just curious whether anyone has any strong opinions regarding the degree of superiority of a Reynolds 631 Vigorelli frame vs. a Bianchi chromoly Imola.

Any advice is much appreciated! Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012