RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2010

2010 Trek 1.1 vs. 1997 GT ZR-1000 (need quick advice)

Went to the LBS tonight to buy a Trek 1.1 (looking to buy my first road bike, and on a TIGHT budget -- craigslist by me doesn't have any options, and there's no used bike stores by me), and ended up talking to one of the managers, who happened to be selling his old 1997 GT ZR-1000 -- all Ultegra components, between 5000-8000 miles ridden, 19.5 lbs with everything on, and the biggest chainring will need to be replaced soon -- offered it to me for $350, knowing I was a student on a really tight budget.

The Trek is $600 plus tax, comes with free tuneups for life from the LBS and all the trek/shimano warranties, shimano 2300 components, and weighs 23.5 lbs. The GT is obviously buyer beware -- to be sold final and as is (he's going to get the mechanics to tune it up, and that's it)

I rode both on the trainer there, they both fit me well, the Trek with a more relaxed angle, the GT with a racing geometry. Trek 1.1 is obviously brand new, shifts nicely and runs silently. GT chain runs OK, needs a tuneup, and the components are definitely "worn in". I spoke to the mechanic there who looked at it -- said that it's definitely a worn in bike, but is in pretty decent shape, and that the 13 year old ultegra components might actually outlast the new 2300 components.

I'm not looking to get into super hi-tech road racing -- I'm buying a bike to get in shape, and use for sprint and olympic length triathlons.

To summarize:

2010 Trek 1.1:
    2300 shimano components
    23.5 lbs
    Aluminum frame and fork
    Brand new, free tuneups for life from LBS
    $600 plus tax

1997 GT ZR-1000:
    Ultegra components
    19.5 lbs
    Aluminum frame, carbon fork
    5000-8000 miles ridden
    Chainring needs to be replaced soon
    Bike is DEFINITELY "worn in", needs tuneup
    $350 firm

What should I get?

Wave, dammit!