RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2006

52cm top tube ok for 5'10" rider?

Hi guys,

Bit of a beginners question here (as you can see it is my first post, I am a convert from mtbr.com) as I am new to road bikes and have possibly found my perfect frame. The only problem is my perfect frame (full FOCO 52cm) is on eBay finishing in 2 days so I am trying to ascertain whether or not I can make it fit me nicely before placing a bid!

The main issue is this frame has a 52cm top tube (C/C) - it also has a 52cm seat tube, but I am not too worried as I can fix that easily with seat/post adjustment. I guess what I am asking is, what length top tube is generally reccomended for someone of my height (5'10") and what are you guys using? If 52 is too short for me, what would issues would I have with just getting a longer stem?

Thanks in advance -- I really want this frame, but also really want to stay rational if it doesn't fit me!
    Last edited by GoingDHfast; 05-23-2006 at 02:55 AM.

duh...
    unless you've got weird body proportions or like an unusual fit, a 52cm top tube would likely be too short

wim
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2005
    The major problem with frames nominally too small is excessive saddle-to-handlebar drop. As you jack your seat post up to make up for a short seat tube, the bars can't follow. To ride that frame, you would have to tolerate a very large bar drop. Make sure you can before paying your money.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004

too small...

Actually, a TT length without the seat tube angle that goes with it is really meaningless, but mostly likely both the frame size and TT length are too small.