RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2013

Advice: Bargain CAAD-3 or hold out for carbon?

I'm in the market for my first road bike, and I'm in a bit of a dilemma, since I have a great deal on hand that won't last.

As a quick precursor, I've been riding for a little over a year, beginning on a hybrid and working up to an older road bike this season that I'm using on loan at the moment. I'm a novice at best, but I'm working toward a goal of being able to hang with the faster groups and perhaps do a little racing in the future. I don't have a lot of money to jump from bike to bike or spend money every year upgrading, but I do have the money to invest in a fairly good bike that will be all I need for years to come. Basically, I don't want to buy the wrong bike and want something else in a year.

I discovered that a LBS has a leftover 2012 CAAD10 Ultegra that's marked down to $1,500 that I know is a great deal, however, because I ride on some fairly rough roads at times and have some ongoing prostate/pelvic issues (not caused by cycling), I felt from the get-go that investing in carbon would be better from a health and comfort standpoint, even if it is a bit overkill for a novice cyclist. I don't really need and have never considered a bike with Ultegra stuff, it just so happens this CAAD10-3 is what they've got left.

So my dilemma is to consider this CAAD10, or hold out until winter when I might be able to score a leftover carbon frame bike under the roughly $2,000 limit I've set. Any opinions? I know there a lot of CAAD10 vs. SuperSix/other carbon frame discussions out there, but I feel the deal on the CAAD sort of changes the decision process.

have droids, will party
    Most would agree that a CAAD 10 will ride better than a budget carbon frame. Plus, you can mitigate most of the harshness of the road with good wheel and tire selection. If it were me, I'd go with the CAAD 10...

RoadBikeReview Member