Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012

Aluminum or Carbon? What to do?

Been considering a new road bike, I'm a beginner, and I like the trek 2011 2.3 because it has a solid 105 grouping throughout and a much better than average wheel set. It's also sold across the street by my LBS! This is a aluminum H2 bike on sale for about $1,200 if I buy the trek/Jax protection plan for an additional $130 bucks. The 2012 version sells for about 1,425 and is also a consideration!

My other option is a new 2011 Fuji SL-1-Comp Limited Edition Road Bike with a carbon frame for about $1,399. This bike is sold at a shop about 20 miles away and has a basic 105 grouping with a mix of other decent components.

I have also seen a new 2010/11 Kestrel Talon Carbon Road Bike Shimano 105 for around $1,400 that has a full retail of $2,400. This is a sexy bike that was a 2010 Cycling Magazine Best value bike.

What to do? Any advise from those of you that have more experience and or knowledge? Comfort and quality is most important to me.
    Last edited by Hottody; 04-05-2012 at 05:59 AM.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2004
    There are probably going to be two opinions here. First is the fact that you're a beginner. This mentality says that you should stick with aluminum, learn a bit...then move on if need be.
    The second view has to do with the properties of carbon being very forgiving. Carbon has a tremendously comfortable ride quality that aluminum cannot match.
    Ultimately the choice is yours. You are right in thinking about 105. It's a great grouppo.
    Good Luck.
    With people like Peter P. around, I am done posting on this website. Mean people have driven me off after 9 plus years. Good luck newbies beware.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2005
    i'd recommend a Cannondale CAAD10 with 105. the CAAD10 rides like many carbon bikes without the stiff price and concerns of carbon frames. as a beginner or intermediate rider, nothing beats the CAAD10.