RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2006

Angry Beware Flyte1.com Carbon Forks!

On July 3rd I ordered a Flyte Defiant frame and fork. There was a delay in their shipping and the order was shipped 7/21, finally arriving 7/25. Due to the delay and in part due to my business obligations, I was delayed in starting to assemble a bike from this purchase for about 2 weeks. The frame is fine to inspection, and is well finished w/good weld quality BUT THE ALL CARBON FLYTE FORK APPEARS SUBSTANDARD IN COSTRUCTION AND POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS! There are small voids in the epoxy matrix near the steerer tube-crown interface for the last 1/3 -1/2 inch The fabricator has also enlarged the area around the fork crown to approximately twice the size of other road forks. As an engineer, I suspect this is an atempt to deal with a fabrication quality issue by increasing the mass of epoxy/carbon in this area of the fork. I plan to xray the fork today to further evaluate the structure, but would not recommend that anyone ride on this fork!

Flyte has little in the way of customer service.....Our attempts to call Flyte over 3 days and to return the fork have been met with no response by phone. Our e-mail response from Flyte is basically as follows: A. You are past our "10 day" return policy deadline, so no deal, no returns allowed!. B. If you want some of your money back, sell this fork on e-bay. C. Some slanderous comments about our maturity for complaining & reporting our safety concerns in forums such as this.

I plan to communicate my concerns to the US Consumer Product Safety Commission. We previously have discovered defects in other manufacturers products over the years and they have always been very concerned and appropriately helpful. When we had aerobar armrest failure on a Profile design product in April 2004, they were excellent in their response, providing re-engineered product to us at no cost and issuing a recall;

Flyte certainly has had a unique response to our concerns.