RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2011

Cervelo RS vs. Colnago CLX 2.0

Hey guys,

My first official post! I'm a newbie from the mountain bike world looking to venture to the "other" side. I've decided on a carbon bike as I think the technology, performance and aesthetics are truly amazing. The only thing I haven't decided on was the bike. As fellow auto enthusiasts know, performance cars and performance bikes go hand and hand, so you know I can appreciate quality of the "ride" and am one to sacrifice comfort over performance.

So..being this will be my first road bike, i'm looking for a performance bike, but will err on the side of comfort. I don't believe i'll be doing any racing, but ya never know. At first, i'll be doing longer rides, eventually hoping to do a century. I've been reading a lot of reviews and have not read a single bad review on the Cervelo RS, so i'm interested.

Colnago's are also so pretty and they have a long history. Has anyone ridin' the CLX 2.0? How does it compare with the RS? The are at similiar price points. Just to let you know, I have not test ridden either of these bikes since i'm not ready to pull the trigger yet. Just plan on reading reviews and living through you guys in the meantime.

Any other bikes/brands you guys would recommend me look at? I'm also looking at the Orbea Orca and possibly the Trek Madone, but I would prefer to stick with a brand that's a bit more unique (less mainstream?).

Any help or opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Is it the future yet?
    Apr 2008
    While I haven't spent hardly any time on these bikes, I have a friend who has an RS. I've ridden it for a few miles. While it was too small for me, it seemed to ride nice and smooth. I haven't ridden a CLX, but I love the way it looks. The guy with the RS rode it and said it just didn't ride that great. Couldn't really say why exactly, but he chose the RS.