Thread: felt F55 ?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2010

felt F55 ?

Hello die hard roadies. I am a newbie to the road bike world. I have a 2005 felt F55 road bike. size 54. I think the bike is too tall for me. I tried putting the seat as low as possible and forward. Just cant get comfortable. Peeps told me to stand over the bike and there should be at least an inch between you and the top bar. I tried, cannot be done, I have to lean the bike a little bit to the side in order to stand over it. My height is 5'6". My ? is should I sell the bike and get a bike the fits (get sized for it) or should I just buy a frame (that fits me) and swap all the parts from the F55 to the new frame. Components / parts are great on the F55. Then sell the F55 frame. Any help / advise would greatly be appreciated. Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2009
    That's a tough one. The components themselves are pretty decent, looking at the specs for the 2005, you have many Dura-Ace parts, along with a compact FSA-SLK crank, and the only real semi-glaring deficit (to some, not me) would be the Tektro brakes, that can be remedied with better brake pads. The shifting of the components to a new frame would be justifiable if you can find a similar frame at a reasonable cost, and do the work yourself. Otherwise, you might as well buy a new bike. Taking into consideration that the closest new replacement frame from Felt (the FA) retails for $999, that has to be taken into account. I would ask around in the Felt thread to see what they say.

RoadBikeReview Member
    You should first go to your local bike shop and ask about a fitting. Not a fitting that is standing over the bike to see if there is and inch between you and the top bar, but one that will size you correctly based on the geometry of the bike.