Thread: First race bike

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2012

First race bike

Hey everyone, I'm a mountain biker looking to get into racing road bikes. I used to road race sport bikes so this short course crit racing seems to be right up my alley. I'm looking to purchase my first road bike which I hope to start racing with sometime this summer/fall. I am very fond of my LBS that I go to for mountain bike related stuff so I plan to purchase through them. I rode a few bikes and brought my decision down an Allez Race 105 or Tarmac sport. Components are nearly identical so it really comes down to carbon or aluminum. Since I'm new to this sport I'm unsure if I should spring the extra $400 or so for carbon. I understand it is stiffer and lighter(how much exactly...looks like 1 lb?), but at 155 lbs is 1 lb of bike weight going to make that much of a difference? Any insight on my decision would be greatly appreciated. Also any other tips/info on getting into racing would be greatly appreciated.
    Mountain - 2012 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR 29er
    Road - 2013 Specialized Tarmac

RoadBikeReview Member
    If money is not an issue, race with what you feel will make you win. However if money is in the equation, aluminum frames are less money to replace in the event of a crash.

The frame is just one part of the bicycle. The components you put on it decides more if it will become a pound heavier or lighter.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2012
    Components between the 2 models I'm looking at are nearly identical. How does the carbon hold up in a crash?

The Slow One.
    Many companies put heavier bars, stems, and seatposts on aluminum frames, which could easily add up to 1lb.

I've found the entry-level Specialized Tarmacs to be a little on the soft side for me, but you may disagree. Ride both and see which one works for you.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Alaska Mike View Post