Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2013

First Road Bike?

First things first- Hello! i'm new to this forum and looking to get into road biking, and i need your help on choosing my first bike.

So i'm just about to get into Road bikes, after riding a mountain bike from target a few years.. I'm thinking about sub-$1000 range, as my dad also wants to get a road bike. As i'm a total beginner, i know absolutely NOTHING, but what i found on the net basically says shimano tiagra is the way to go for a beginner.
    i've searched for almost a week now on a bike to get on, and visited a few of my local bike shops also. for a 2013 ver, i'm thinking on trek 1.2, 1.5, Defy 5, Allez sport. (for sora parts, i'm considering since no more thumb shifters for 2013)
    and i've looked into craigslist like everyone says where there's a great deal- i found a 2009 trek madone 6.2 for $600 with ultegra parts. sounds like an amazing deal to me except i think i have to switch out a few parts to it..(saddle, tire, etc)-(would that cost more than $1000?) and i don't know if a beginner (never ridden a road bike) like me should get this kind of bike.. i'll post pics of it with the post. I really need your opinion on this matter..
    Thanks so much in advance!
    Name:  3ta3q73Ha5I35F75t7d691c967f66bc761864.jpg
Views: 732
Size:  40.1 KB
    First Road Bike?-3rf3k83f95n15f65qdd69ea5ac5e77e161024.jpg
    First Road Bike?-3md3s53h25if5r95k8d698a49f7e8c45e13bf.jpg
    Name:  3E53K93Md5Nf5r35F6d691366490016261908.jpg
Views: 595
Size:  18.7 KB

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by KP Tim View Post
    First things first- Hello! i'm new to this forum and looking to get into road biking, and i need your help on choosing my first bike.