RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2018

Fuji vs Trek vs Tomasso

So I am relatively new to road biking and currently riding a junky Schwinn Phocus 1600 I purchased end of April 2018. For a bare bones entry level road bike priced at $330, i have no complaints. However, i obviously plan to upgrade in the near future but since i am new to this sport i feel somewhat hesitant about making a decision without some insider knowledge.

A little background on my road biking. I am currently riding between 500 and 600 miles per month. Mostly 20-30 mile rides many times per week though i would like to decrease my overall frequency and increase the distance over fewer rides. I expect to have logged 2000 miles on my current bike by the first week in August.

I will admit that i am incredibly conscious of my spending habits and finances even though i am comfortable. For this reason i do not plan on purchasing a new road bike until june of next year. I also want to prove to myself that i am committed. At that rate i expect to have approximately 7000 miles on my current bike so i will be more than ready for an upgrade.

Now to get into the meat and potatoes. The budget i am proposing for this new bike will be between $900 and $1500, post tax and shipping if i decide to purchase online. I have been tirelessly searching bikes in this price range with good reviews. I have a list that i have continued to add to and remove from however, right now i have 8 bikes on the list. I will list them below in no particular order with the post tax price:

Fuji Transonic 2.7 ($1498) - carbon frame
    Fuji Transonic 2.8 LE ($1498) - carbon frame
    Trek Emonda ALR 4 ($1230)
    Fuji SLR 3.2 ($1391) - carbon frame
    Fuji Roubaix 1.3 ($1284)
    Fuji Roubaix 1.1 ($1391)
    Fuji Roubaix 1.5 ($1070)
    Tomasso Ghisallo ($1177) - carbon frame