Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Gios Compact Pro

26K views 44 replies 10 participants last post by  Pete E. 
#1 ·
Hey guys is this frame nervous riding with the compact rear triangle. How would it make a difference by moving the dropouts forward or back? Interested. This thing is sweet. Anyone have one?

See less See more
#3 ·
Voodoochile said:
Hey guys is this frame nervous riding with the compact rear triangle. How would it make a difference by moving the dropouts forward or back? Interested. This thing is sweet. Anyone have one?
Rode the original. As a junior rider in early 80's it was my sponsor. The bicycle was kept aside for several years while riding for Peugeot. In the late 80's the Gios was dusted off and I started riding it again until 1996-ish. I crashed it bad into the back side of someone cutting me off on a June 20th evening after exiting Nation on the way to Bastille coming from Marne-la-Vallee on the way to Porte Maillot where I lived. My commute.

Loved the tightness and responsive lite nature of how the rear triangle caught pedal inputs. You could out steer the bike, hop curbs, jump over downed riders in front of you and almost avoid hitting a side street car blowing his red light in front of your bars. It's classic GIOS. It's not comfortable on long riding ...but it's comfortable to some who sprints around obstacles and likes speed. It's good for 4-5 hours every day. Rain or shine. The compact rear stays have been around forever.

It's a keeper frame.:thumbsup:

-
p.s. I'm buying one next year.

#4 ·