RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2011

Help: Trek Madone, Ridley Damocles, CAAD 10 or Argon 18

I am new to road biking, deciding to take it up after years of mountain biking (downhill and XC).

i am looking to drop around $2000 CAD for a new bike but i am conflicted as to what to get. Here is what i am thinking.

1) 2011 Trek Madone 3.1 w/ 105- $1800+tax new.
    2) 2011 Trek Madone 4.5 w/ 105 - $200 + tax new
    3) 2010 Argon 18 Krypton w/ 105 (owner says never used) - $1900 no tax
    4) 2009 Ridley Damocles (owner says just built it, ultegra 6600) - $1800 no tax
    5) 2011 CAAD 10 w/ 105 - $1499 + tax

i am not going to be competing, mainly just riding to keep in shape / go fast. i cant find too much on the Argons in terms of reviews, what they are good for etc.

whats the real difference between the 3.1 and 4.5 madones? carbon type?

any other bikes i should add to my list? what are you thoughts?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2008
    It appears that the Madone 4.5 is a bit stiffer than the 3.1. Other than that there are a couple of upgrades such as CF seat post on the 4.5, but I like the cost savings for the 3.1. I'm looking at the 4.7 as my next road bike...currently riding a 2004 Trek 2100. Heard nice things about the Cannondale CAAD 10 but I would prefer carbon fiber.
    Less talk, more ride....

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2010
    The CAAD10 rides real well. I would say better than some low to mid carbon frames. My opinion is subjective as I was not able to get the exact same wheels/tires/bars on all bikes I was on.

Try to get on all of them with the same tire pressure for all. I can't say anything about the Ridley or Argon. I have not been able to get on any of those
    It's a fire road.............
    I'm on a road bike..........

They have enough in common to blast down it.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010