Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Honest Advice on Intro Road Bike

7K views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  cparrish 
#1 ·
Greetings, I'm new to this site. Little about myself, 15-year smoker thankfully 2 1/2-years removed, avid runner (several full/half marathons completed), now looking to branch out into triathlon. I'll apologize now for the long-winded post...I'm just very confused.

I have been looking for a good introductory level road bike and like many others am working on a limited budget ($500-$700). I have visited many of my local bike shops and have been getting steered toward bikes a little out of my price range ($800+) based on the quality of the components (TIAGRA vs. SORA vs. 2300, etc) - which, to be honest, means little to me since I am new to the sport. Right now the Trek 1.1 seems to be a good fit pricewise, but as I have said, I have been warned that I'll be back in a few months with problems due to the quality of the components.

Online, I have to admit, the bikes offered on bikes direct seem very tempting based on the components offered for the price (e.g., http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/gravity/liberty_3.htm). I have read very good and not-so-good reviews from folks about these bikes. Honestly, though, for the price are they good introductory road bikes? If the components are "higher" end (TIAGRA, SHIMANO 105), is it the frame that's the problem?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

See less See more
#2 ·
Nothing wrong with the frame/fork at all. If you can do some assembly and do your own bike maintainence then go ahead, that is a great price on a good bike. Cant bet the "bang for your buck" at Bikesdirect.

If you are not good with wrenching then definately buy from your LBS, the bike will be higher priced but with the bike put together and most likely free adjustments etc for a certain time period after the sale.