Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Indoor Trainer Bike

2K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  Longhair-NL 
#1 ·
I'm a beginner that has a Giant Defy 2 (Netherlands Specs).

After a lot of research, I am going to get a Kinetic by Kurt Road Machine for the cold, rainy day and I want to get a bike dedicated for it that would also act as a spare in case it is needed.

Would it be better to get something with low specs (Shimano STI 24 speed) or spend the extra up front on something with higher specs (Shimano 2300, Sora or Tiagra - upto 27 speed) ?

#2 ·
I'm a strong believer in having a training bike that is heavier and slightly less grade of comps than the nice bike, however it should almost always be the same drivetrain (ie 10spd). I would suggest you get the better second bike so when you ride it will actually feel somewhat similar in drivetrain to your nice bike. For example I have a KONA jake the snake cross bike with 10spd ultegra 6600 sl, fenders and 28mm tires. It weighs in at 23lbs. My nice ride is CF, SRAM red and weighs in at 16lbs. Train on heavy and when you get on your nice bike it'll feel like you're flying. Ahh my fenders! What can I say about these beasts of burden? The fenders have this wonderful feeling of wanting to get off the bike and throw it away especially during headwind rides ;)

#3 ·
I was looking to get another 10 speed but that falls out of my price range. All of last year's models that I am looking at are 9 speed including the "next one up" of my current bike.

While I understand the concept of having a heavier bike for training, I don't understand how it would relate in my case since it will not see the road except for the rare occasion of the main bike being down.

Fenders? I've been wondering why my full suspension mountain bike goes a lot slower :thumbsup:

#8 ·