RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2008

Lemond Zurich Triple

I am new to the road biking and have a question about a bike.
    It is a 2001 Lemond Zurich Triple. He wants $850. for it. What can anyone tell me about this bike. All opinions are welcome Thank you.

cmg
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Had a blue and yellow zurich. nice and comfortable bike, a crusier built out of Reynolds 853 w/725 chainstays (maybe) all steel/carbon fork. I had a 51. It had a slightly slacked seat tube angle 73.75+/- and a 10cm head tube. Here is a link to some archives look for yours http://www.bikearchive.com/action.ph...D&model=Zurich

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2004
    That sounds kinda high for that old of a bike. Nice bike, but it's got some outdated equiptment on it. Look on ebay at completed listings for a similar model and see what they are bringing.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2008
    One just sold on ebay for $760. There is another one for $750 I can buy it now for that price.

banned
    It's a very good bike. Reynolds 853 steel, Ultegra (IIRC), good geometry.

I think they sold for around $1800-2000 back in the day. $850 isn't a horrible price, might be worth it to get it if he comes down a little.

That said, that 57cm Zurich on eBay for a starting bid of $600, and a 'Buy it Now' price of $750 seems pretty tempting, if it's in good condion and that's your size:

http://cgi.ebay.com/2001-LeMond-ZURI...QQcmdZViewItem

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2008
    I think we are looking at the same bike. I like the colors and I think it woull make a good beginner road bike

banned
    Totally. You have to compare and think about what you would get in a $600-750 new road bike vs what you'd get in a used Zurich... you'd be talking strictly entry-level at that price level if you bought new.